Curriculum & activities

Knowing what your child is learning helps you support them throughout their education.

In this section you can find out how public education works and the range of learning opportunities offered for students to challenge their thinking, and make the most of their unique talents.

You can also browse each School Year section to find out more.

The Department of Education's curriculum is organised into stages. The primary stages are:

  • Early Stage 1 - Kindergarten
  • Stage 1 - Years 1 and 2
  • Stage 2 - Years 3 and 4
  • Stage 3 - Years 5 and 6

The curriculum is divided into six Key Learning Areas.

ENGLISH - includes listening, speaking, writing and reading. Students are encouraged to speak and write for a variety of purposes and to use critical literacy skills when creating or responding to texts.

MATHEMATICS - students study patterns and relationships. They analyse, count and sort numbers and solve problems in the areas of space and geometry, patterns and algebra, data, measurement and number.

SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY - students learn to understand their environment, both man-made and natural, by investigating, designing, making and using technology.

PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT< HEALTH AND PHYSICAL EDUCATION - students develop self-esteem, social responsibility, personal fitness and the ability to make informed decisions about health and lifestyle.

HUMAN SOCIETY AND ITS ENVIRONMENT -students study relationships between people, cultures and languages, with a special focus on civics and citizenship.

CREATIVE ARTS - students participate in the art forms of dance, drama, music and visual arts through creating their own work and appreciating and responding to the work of others.